It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:28 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: NowPlayingScreenSaver For AlbumPlayer V1.0 is out
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 1:43 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
Hi Everyone

I haven't used AlbumPlayer for very long yet, but so far, it's worked out very nicely in a restored antique radio cabinet that I converted to a touchscreen jukebox. AP is just about the only solution I found that actually works intuitively with a touchscreen.

At any rate, I really wanted something to fill the gaps between selecting songs, visually. After some poking around and talking to friends, I'd come up with the idea of a "pan and zoom" slideshow of random images related to the currently playing track/album/artist. But surprisingly, I couldn't turn up anything of the sort already built.

So, I threw something together myself!

I call it the NowPlayingScreenSaver.

The zip includes the SCR file (the screensaver itself) and a PDF of what documentation there is.

Installation is easy. First, you'll need the .net 4.0 framework installed.

Then just copy the SCR file over to your Windows\System32 folder and set it up just like any other screensaver.

There aren't a lot of options for now. Depending on feedback, I'll likely be adding some functionality soon.

I don't seem to be able to upload files to the board, so I'll include a link to a thread on another board where I'm also quite active (The Build your own Arcade Machine board). It has the zip file and some additional info (plus links to my converted radio cabinet project for the curious).

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=119045.msg1260939#msg1260939

Let me know what you think.

Thanks


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:07 am
Posts: 11
Location: Wervershoof - Nederland
I love it! :D

http://youtu.be/zIWlPfM2-eI

Very relaxing.

It would be nice to make just one screen active for the screensaver but i dont think this wil work?

And it would be better to use the artist and not the album artist.

Very nice. :roll:

_________________
The sun is the same in a relative way but you’re older,
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death.

Time - Pink Floyd
(Mason, Waters, Wright, Gilmour)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 10:26 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
@TimoSoof

Wow! I love your setup!

When you say "Make one screen active" you mean just have the screen saver animations running on one screen? That you can do right now. Just Bring up settings and delete all the "screen area" entries except for the 1 screen you want animations on.

But, at least right now, when the SS loads up, it does black out ALL screens. So you may be asking if it would not black out all screens. Would that be a good thing? I'd think if the SS fired up, you'd want all screens blanked, at the very least.

But maybe there's a reason not to?

Dude, I hear you with the Artist vs Album Artist business. It seems there's some issue with AlbumPlayer itself and the distinction between albm artist and artist. I'll look again. It's entirely possible I'm querying the wrong field.... doh..... just went and looked and sure enough, I am.

I'll recompile and get a new build posted to correct that...

Thanks for the comment!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 6:26 am 
AlbumPlayer Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4754
Nice you created a screensaver. Good work! I will set this post as sticky.

In which way you connect to the AP? If you use the XML interface, you should take the seperate Artist tag from the GetNowPlayingInfo message to get the track artist:

Code:
<AlbumPlayerReply id="GetNowPlayingInfo">
  <PlayListIndex>3</PlayListIndex>
  <Album albumId="423">
    <!— Album tags here -->
  </Album>
  <Track albumId="423" number="1">
    <!— Track tags here -->
  </Track>
  <Artist artistId="12">
    <!— Artist tags here -->
  </Artist>
</AlbumPlayerReply>


The Album tag only contains the album artist


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: UR A STAR...
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 7:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 28
Location: UK
Just downloaded and installed, looks interesting.

Thanx for the effort you've put into this 'on-going' project :wink:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 12:13 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
Hey Guys

Thanks

@Peter
Yeah, I'm using the XML API and the GetNowPlayingInfo. You're exactly right. I was just grabbing the wrong artist field.

I'll be posting an update shortly.

@Guinness
Thanks! I've just about got support functioning for Windows Media Player, so that'll be nice, although, for touchscreen support, I haven't found anything that works as nicely as AlbumPlayer.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:23 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
Just updated NowPlayingScreenSaver to 1.0.0.2

Fixes the prob with using AlbumArtist instead of Artist.

Also adds support for Windows Media Player and Windows Media Center as the "active media player".

The download is available over at

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=119045.msg1260939#msg1260939


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 8:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 28
Location: UK
Been using it since last Tuesday, and I really like it.

Thanx for the up-dated version too. I'll install that in a mo

:wink:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 9:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
@Guiness

Thanks for the feedback! It's always nice to know people out there are getting something out of what you've done.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: New version 1.0.0.4 is out
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:56 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
Fixes a minor issue where the default built in images wouldn't show if there was no internet connectivity to pull down random images.

Also added support for MAME (ie if you're playing a MAME game, leave it such that the SS will pop up, then NPSS will detect that and display images related to the particular mame rom you were playing.

That is really geared more toward uses in gaming cabinets than jukeboxes, but what the heck!

available at
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=119045.msg1260939#msg1260939


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:14 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 28
Location: UK
Download and working with AP. Had to point the address for default images in configure to C:\albumplayerdata/images/artista, as it was pointing towards the System32 folder!

Again, thanx for this :wink:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:12 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:01 pm
Posts: 34
how do you get this to work on a second screen :?:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:10 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 54
It should automatically detect all screens on the system.

You can also open the settings (from the normal screen saver config screen in Windows) and set specific areas of specific screens to show images (or put multiple images on a single screen, even).

Typically, though, with no config, the app will just read how many screens you've got and set an image area for each one covering the whole thing.

The settings will be stored in SETTINGS.XML in a folder called "The Now Playing ScreenSaver", but exactly where that folder lives can vary depending on the OS. Easiest way to find it is just to do a system search.

Under Win7 anyway, it'll be

C:\Users\{username}\AppData\Local\The Now Playing ScreenSaver\Settings.xml

The file is just a simple XML file, and the app will regen it if it's deleted, so if things don't seem to be working right, just delete it and try running the app again.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:33 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:01 pm
Posts: 34
thanks will take a look im using win 7


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 12:54 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 172
Is this addon available somewhere else?

tx.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Moderators: Jan, xblkx, Peter van der Burg Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net