It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:05 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Albumplayer on a linux box
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:48 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Hi,
I switched to Linux two months ago and have been looking since to add Albumplayer next to the excellent Amorak.
I'm glad I found a way, here's what you need:
Vmware Workstation (valid for a month for free) to create a virtual XP
You can play this as an application on Linux with the free Vmware player...and install Albumplayer. I only needed to make my music available through a Samba share to built the database (for some reason the old one got stuck loading at 90 albums).
It works like a charm...see pic.

So now....I have two of the best ...Albumplayer & Amarok ;)

Image


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:11 pm 
AlbumPlayer Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4754
That sounds great. So if people asking if AlbumPlayer runs on linux, there is a way. :)

I have set this thread to "sticky".


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:25 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Norway
Thanks. This helps a lot now when I'm forced to use Linux as my computer is fucked up. I just hope it installs on Ubuntu Live...

_________________
- Atle


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Playing Albumplayer on Ubuntu Linux..update
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:12 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Hi, here's an update on the various way's to play Albumplayer on Linux.

There's another good and bit faster virtualizer for Windows on Linux, it's called Virtualbox. Very nice is the possibility to safe the windows-state, in 10 seconds I have Albumplayer up and running.
Follow this link for installation guidance on Ubuntu:
http://doc.gwos.org/index.php/VirtualBox#Install_VirtualBox

Another very attractive setup is a seamless integration with the Ubuntu desktop.
This can be done with Virtualbox or Vmware
For guidance on Virtualbox see:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?&t=433359

So far I only tried this installation with Vmware, after some trying & searching it finally works. You can follow this guide if you want such a setup with Vmware.
http://www.venturecake.com/10-minutes-to-run-every-windows-app-seamlessly-on-your-ubuntu-desktop/#comment-240
I'll post a screenshot so you can see the result.

:P



Image


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: screenshot
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
here's a link to a screenshot, don't no why it doesn't show up here

http://fotoalbum.dds.nl/bombadil/ap/Screenshot-2.jpg


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:54 am 
AlbumPlayer Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4754
Adri, I uploaded the image to the albumon server if you don't mind. I think it is not allowed to have direct links to the place where your picture was located.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 5:09 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Heeee, thank's a lot Peter.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Albumplayer & seamless integration
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:42 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Hi,
I like to report some of my finding with seamless integration after a week of playing around.

With Vmware it works as I reported.. but two day's later I found; not all of the time. :(
Sound sometimes skip in Albumplayer. Funny is, ones it plays well it keeps playing well no matter how I stress my computer. My feeling is 64 bit Vmware software isn't stable yet, because there is an affect on all windows programs (slowing down).
I didn't test this in 32 bit so far.

I later tried a seamless integration setup with Virtualbox, which is great.
It's faster, reliable and has better desktop integration cause of this easy step by step setup guide: http://ace2016.net/tutorials/linux/run- ... ux-desktop
But the problem here is with Albumplayer, sounds are skipping badly..
While in the same setup other audio programs like the latest Winamp & Windows Mediaplayer play very well.
I installed Albumplayer 4.9d with audio buffering.
Will you please have a look to audio buffering/performance again, Peter?

All of this doesn't mean you can't play albumplayer on Linux..you can. :P
So go ahead and try Virtualbox, you won't be disappointed. It's just the seamless integration with Albumplayer which I find troublesome.

Wish me luck with 32bit...I will report.

A.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:17 am 
AlbumPlayer Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4754
You can try to increase the BassBufferLength parameter in the AlbumPlayer.ini file.

Standard is:

BassBufferLength=500

Try to set it to 1000 or even higher. Just to find out it is the playing buffer (which is increased using BassBufferLength) that gives problems or the new prefetch buffer. The prefetch buffer reads 1 MB ahead each time which is about 5 or 6 seconds of music. I don't think this is the problem in this case. People playing from network drives now play without problems using the prefetch buffering.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Hi,

I changed the BassBufferLength to 1000 and voila it works!
Put it back to 500...I get the skipping sounds back.
Really cool 8)
Albumplayer works with a seamless integration in Virtualbox!
This is sooooo nice.
(I will keep testing this for a while to make sure...)
Meanwhile you can try this setup yourself
http://ace2016.net/tutorials/linux/run- ... ux-desktop

It takes a lot of work to get this going, so I can understand not everybody is willing to do this.
This is why it would be good to have Albumplayer running in Crossover for Linux. It will make an Albumplayer install in Linux easy.
To make short..I asked the crossover guys to put Albumplayer in their database..and they did.
see: http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibilit ... pp_id=3220

So if anybody out here runs Linux (I know it will not be many) please consider to vote or to pledge for Albumplayer!!!
And Peter you can also help out if you want.. click on " > Want to help? "

Oke, hope to see this going someday.
Bye for now.

A.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:36 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Hi, again

I tried a new setup for Albumplayer in "Crossover for Linux" and have it working this time!
It installs & plays just like it's on Windows.

There is however one disturbing bug spoiling all the fun.
The main albumplayer window stays on top of every other window.
It doesn't want to go into the background.
This is also with other albumplayer windows like collection-editor.
So if you start collection editor, it stays behind the main albumplayer-window.
With other programs the same thing is happening. The main Albumplayer-window stays in front.

Peter, I have the feeling this is an Albumplayer specific problem because other windows programs do not react like this.
So I have to ask you one more time to have a look.
If you can fix this, then we have Albumplayer available for Linux & Mac!

Albumplayer plays well otherwise with default settings, I haven't seen anything strange yet (but did not test all albumplayer features so far).
This setup takes lesser resources in comparison to the Virtual Machine solutions described before, no need to load the Windows OS anymore.

The setup instructions;
Install Crossover for Linux or Mac (tested in Linux)
Create a "Windows 98 bottle"
*Install windows media player 6.4
*Install ms internet explorer 6 sp1+ internet tools
*Install (core) fonts
Install ms data access components 2.1
( http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=nl )
Install Albumplayer (4.9d)
(* automatic download & install in crossover)

For detailed instructions, screens etc. look (later) on; http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibilit ... pp_id=3220

You can try a Wine ( http://www.winehq.org/ ) setup too if you dare or just don't want to pay for Crossover.
Almost there..
cheers! :lol:

Adri


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Jumping to quickly to conclusions again..
Experiencing problems with database, it breaks after two or three restarts
Then it has problems reading the database.
I'll go ahead with some more testing, maybe a later version of data access components.
Still would like that window issue to be looked at, if possible..

Cheers,

Adri


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:01 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Cool, it's running stable with mdac2.81 and Jet 4.0 Service Pack 8
Download it here since ms-site is so slow:
http://www.macropool.com/en/download/mdac.html#Download
Never thought it would be so easy to have this running in crossover!

Rated this for bronze for now for playing stable but with a serious issue.
Can't wait to see this going for gold!

http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibilit ... pp_id=3220


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:19 am 
AlbumPlayer Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4754
Just returned from vacation. It will take at least another week before I can look into this window issue. But honestly I don't know at this moment what might cause this.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:57 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:47 pm
Posts: 46
Forget about it Peter.
I found many more examples in the Wine database with the same kind of issue.
Perhaps a future version of Wine will handle it better.
Meanwhile there is away around, one can play applications in a wine controlled window.
(Look in the codeweavers database for Albumplayer's tips&tricks)
This way Albumplayer performs very well on the Linux desktop.
It's not perfect, for example "build album cd" is not working and sub-windows don't paint always perfectly, but main functions like playing, building database, collect covers & lastfm ..all work very well!

.. want to try some root?

:mrgreen:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Moderators: Jan, xblkx, Peter van der Burg Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net